The winners of the Tasmanian Media Awards for 2018 were announced last night at a gala cocktail function at the Waterside Pavilion in Hobart.

Tasmanian MEAA president Mark Thomas said the judges of this year’s awards were extremely pleased with the quality of the 117 entries overall in the 12 award categories (see the list of winners below).

“Richard Baines was named Tasmanian Journalist of the Year for a second year running, which is tribute to his ability to break stories … and as one judge said, he was the ‘must-watch’ journalist of TV news on a nightly basis,” Thomas said.

“Simon Bevilacqua, the former Mercury journalist and editor, was presented with the Keith Welsh award for his extraordinary contribution to the profession for more than 20 years,” Thomas said.

He noted: “As newsrooms are put under resources pressure Australiawide, it is heartening to see the quality of journalism in print, television, radio and online statewide in Tasmania. We saw winners from across the spectrum and around the state.

“Journalists are breaking stories, holding governments – state and local – to account and bringing the Tasmanian public critical and policy-changing facts every day,” Thomas said.

The complete list of winners, finalists and the judges’ comments will be available at the Tasmanian Media Awards 2018 website.

The 2018 Tasmanian Media Awards winners are:

Best News Image
• Cordell Richardson, Fairfax Media: On the scene

Arts Reporting
• Tim Martain, The Mercury: Film, Emos and War

Science, Technology & Environment
• Natalie Whiting, ABC: Body of work

Sports Coverage
• Chris Rowbottom, ABC: Body of work

Health Reporting
• Sally Glaetzer, The Mercury’s TasWeekend magazine: Body of work

Public Service Journalism
• Linda Hunt, ABC: Unhealthy RHH

Excellence in Legal Reporting
• Matthew Denholm, The Australian: Payouts and probes

Feature, Documentary or Current Affairs
• Imogen Elliott and Lachlan Bennet, Fairfax Media: Wild Asset: The Tarking Podcast

Best News Story
• Simeon Thomas-Wilson, The Mercury/Sunday Tasmanian: Glenorchy City Council Board of Inquiry

Best New Journalist
• Rob Inglis, Fairfax Media: Body of work

Keith Welsh Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism
• Simon Bevilacqua, The Mercury

Journalist of the Year
• Richard Baines, ABC

ABC: ABC journalist Richard Baines picks up Tasmania’s top media award for second year

MEAA website: See yourself in the gallery …

HERE: Simon Bevilacqua articles