The ‘deftly handled’ reinvigoration of Ogilvie High School in Hobart has tonight (Saturday 18 June) secured the top award at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2011 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Announcing this year’s winners, the 2011 awards jury said the 2011 Alan C Walker Award for Public Architecture had been awarded to the Ogilvie High School Student Learning Centre, in Hobart suburb New Town, by Liminal Architecture (formerly Forward Brianese & Partners).

At a ceremony in Hobart tonight, the jury said: “This is the work of creative architects who have understood the delicacy of intervention in a mature and functioning facility with layers of building and educational history.” The jury praised the “sensitive and bold” work for “delivering new life and creating a centre for the school, while symbolising contemporary teaching and learning.”
Photography: Peter Whyte

Commenting on new public architecture projects across the State, the jury noted: “Educational facilities dominated this awards category, representing nine of the 12 entries.” They added: “The projects re-order and revamp existing buildings and engage and energise their surroundings.”

“The honoured projects are united by the flexibility of the learning spaces they provide. The multi-use facilities contribute to the functioning and amenity of well-established schools, and offer a focus for renewed pride. The projects are distinguished by bold colour and unique roof forms; an open and transparent ‘lantern’; and a delicate hovering roof.”

The Tarremah Hall project at Tarremah Steiner School scored a double win for the practice, Morrison & Breytenbach Architects, gaining Public Architecture and Sustainable Architecture Awards. The jury noted, “The monolithic macrocarpa hall is a singular sculptural element, robust and muscular in expression. The internal spaces are warm and engaging being totally clad in plywood, giving an enveloping and nurturing ambiance to what otherwise is an extremely large volume.”

Above and right: Tarremah Hall, Morrison & Breytenbach Architects Photography: Ray Joyce

The jury added, “The Tarremah Hall showcases sustainable building practices in its structural and cladding systems.
The building is a carbon sink constructed of plantation grown timbers and the compressed mineral sheet cladding is devoid of cement.”

In total, 24 awards, commendations and prizes were presented to a strong field of entries including a range of unique and interesting houses (see separate media release for full list of winners).
The Allens Rivulet House 2 received the Esmond Dorney Award for Residential Architecture for Room 11 architects.
The house commands a rise of land at Allens Rivulet, just 18km from Hobart. The jury stated, “Allen’s Rivulet House 2 revels
in its unyielding grid and contradictory spaces. Spaces shift around the centrifugal kitchen while they deform the views and vistas.”
They added, “it asserts a tough skin to the elements, yet the warmth of the interior and its controlled connection to the climate and outdoors speak of an intimate understanding of daily life for a young family.”

Above and right: Allens Rivulet House, Room 11
Photography: Ben Hosking

Other projects receiving honours in the Residential Architecture category include the Little Big House by Room 11 at Fern Tree, which also received a Small Project Architecture Award; Marion Bay House by 1 + 2 Architecture at Bream Creek; and Rocky Hills Retreat by Rosevear Architects overlooking Great Oyster Bay and Freycinet Peninsula. The houses capitalise on superb vistas, respectively, with “openings intentionally located to focus on specific features”, “spaces chosen to reveal or obscure them accordingly,” and through using blank expanses as “counterpoints to the extensive and generous views beyond.”

The Saffire Resort at Coles Bay secured a double win for architects Circa Morris-Nunn Walker claiming the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture and Colin C Philp Award for Commercial Architecture. The jury stated, “Both the physical context and the built elements need to be instantly recognisable anywhere in the world. And, the resort buildings need to express their connection
to their unique natural setting.” They said: “The Saffire skate, the roof of the main pavilion, meets this requirement boldly using innovative design methods and materials.”

The jury said, of the double award-winning Saffire Resort, “The tensions between luxury resort and the natural context were challenging and are addressed firstly by the iconic form and then pursued in detail decisions of materials, colour, volume and scale.” They added, “challenges can bring out the creative best in our profession.”

Other multiple Architecture Award winners included Mount Pleasant by Preston Lane Architects, recipient of the Roy Sharrington Smith Award for Heritage and a Residential Architecture Alterations and Additions Award, as well as Marion Bay House by 1 + 2 Architecture, which was voted this year’s most popular awards entrant in the People’s Choice Prize.

Saffire Resort, Circa Morris-Nunn Walker
Photography: Peter Whyte

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing more than 10,000 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design.
Visit the Institute at


The Alan C Walker Award for Public Architecture – Ogilvie High School Student Learning Centre –
Liminal Architecture (formerly Forward Brianese & Partners)
Award: Tarremah Hall – Morrison & Breytenbach Architects
Commendation: Josephite Learning Centre – K2LD Architects
Commendation: Goulburn Street Primary School – Stuart Tanner Architects

The Esmond Dorney Award for Residential Architecture – Houses: Allens Rivulet House 2 – Room 11
New Houses Award: Little Big House – Room 11
New Houses Award: Marion Bay House – 1 + 2 Architecture
New Houses Award: Rocky Hills Retreat – Rosevear Architects
Alterations and Additions Award: Mount Pleasant – Preston Lane Architects
The Colin C Philp Award for Commercial Architecture: Saffire Resort – Circa Morris-Nunn Walker
The Roy Sharrington Smith Award: Mount Pleasant – Preston Lane Architects
Award: Little Big House – Room 11
Commendation: The Brunswick Hotel – Interia Design & Architecture
Award: Tarremah Hall – Morrison & Breytenbach Architects
Award: Saffire Resort – Circa Morris-Nunn Walker
Award: Christ College, University of Tasmania – Hartley Wilson & Bolt
Emerging Architect Prize – Poppy Taylor
President’s Prize – Jamieson Allom
Henry Hunter Triennial Prize – Winner: Tonkin Zulaikha Greer (Project: Port Arthur Separate Prison); Honourable Mention – Maria Gigney Architects (Project: Strangio House)
People’s Choice Prize – Marion Bay House – 1 + 2 Architecture
SWT Blythe Student Prize (Project: Urban Kampung) – Winner: Rebekah Verrier;
Commendation: Gabrielle Phillips; Commendation: Hannah Gora
Australian Institute of Architects