Tasmanian Times

The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. No price is too high for the privilege of owning yourself. ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. No price is too high for the privilege of owning yourself. ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

Arts

Spiegeltent: Julia Jacklin …

JULIA JACKLIN

CRUSHING OUT TODAY
+ TOURING AUSTRALIA IN MARCH
+ IN STORE PERFORMANCES FROM THIS WEEKEND

Album Of The Week – Triple R, Beat Magazine, The Skinny, Loud & Quiet, Dork, Vinyl Me Please, The AU Review

‘With these elegantly devastating songs, Julia carves out a space, and a class, all of her own’ – MOJO (8/10)

‘Crushing is a dark exploration of the desolation following a breakup, but the bitter medicine is sweetened by Jacklin’s voice and the occasional garage rush’
– Uncut (8/10)

‘You’re left haunted and amazed by the record’s ability to feel so intimate yet so relatable.’ – The Music (4.5 stars)

‘…it’s evident throughout Crushing that she’s an artist who knows what they want and knows how to ask for it.’ – The Line Of Best Fit

Liberation Records are today honoured to be releasing Julia Jacklin’s devastatingly brilliant sophomore album Crushing into the world. Born from feelings of heartbreak, infatuation and loss, Crushing embodies all meanings of its title delivered in a 10-track masterpiece.
In celebration of the album’s release, Julia launched her Crushing world tour last night at Perth Festival. Following a run of dates in New Zealand next week, Julia will bring her album to life to Australian fans. Presented by Frontier Touring, the tour will hit capital cities and regional centres throughout March, playing her biggest rooms to date. Julia’s Crushing world tour will then jet off to the UK, Europe, USA and Canada with back to back shows from late March through to June.Fans eager to snatch a glimpse of the record in it’s live form before her Crushing  tour can catch her at a host of in store performances at independent record stores from this weekend. Julia will be at Melbourne’s Record Paradise this Sunday 24 February, Sydney’s Red Eye on Monday 26 February and Brisbane’s Jet Black Cat on Friday 8 March.

We’ve been treated to four tracks from Crushing to date; each with their own striking visual created by the unstoppable collaboration between Julia and her long-time friend, Nick Mckk. ‘Body’ came first – a starkly composed portrait of a breakup. Then came ‘Head Alone’ – a pointed and electrifying anthem of refusal. ‘Pressure To Party’ seeks emotional freedom following a break up and the latest, taster track ‘Comfort’, marries delicate guitar strums with Julia’s glaring vocal, perhaps desperately convincing us (and her) that it will be alright. The remaining six tracks take the listener on a truly raw, emotional journey.

Remarkably generous in its open nature, it further cements Jacklin’s place as a future alt-country great.’ – The Skinny (4/5)

‘Singer-songwriter delivers wounded but defiant second LP.’ – Q Magazine (4/5)

‘Crushing by name and crushing by nature, the singer-songwriter’s second album is the sonic equivalent of cracking a smirk and jabbing your knee at an offending man-spreader’ – NME (4/5)

‘As a performer, she’s mesmerising: self-possessed and supremely unhurried, as she demonstrates how, just two years after the release of her debut album, her songwriting has matured to a level most artists twice her age would envy.’
The Independent

‘Julia Jacklin’s songwriting feels too big for conventional structures. Her latest bursts with rambley pent-up energy, a 3-minute-long head-thrashing confession.’
The FADER

Julia’s intrinsic ability to allow us into her most intimate thoughts while evoking starkly relatable emotions through her songwriting is brought to the fore on Crushing. This, teamed with her undeniable aesthetic and shattering live show, has seen Julia attract wide-spread global appeal. Praise and support has flooded in from Spotify, Apple, community radio, triple j, BBC Radio 6, NPR, Paste Magazine (including this stunning live session), Uncut Magazine, NME, Mojo, The Independent, Q Magazine, DIY, The Guardian, Gusher and the covers of Loud & Quiet and EG and Shortlist – with much more still to come.

Produced by Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, Liam Finn) and recorded at The Grove Studios in NSW, Crushing is an album formed from sheer intensity of feeling, and an in-the-moment narrative of heartbreak and infatuation. With her storytelling centred on bodies and crossed boundaries and smothering closeness, Crushing reveals how our physical experience of the world shapes and sometimes distorts our inner lives.

Crushing is available now on digital, CD and vinyl formats. Tickets for Julia’s Australian Crushing tour are moving quickly with fans urged to get in early to avoid disappointment.

WATCH: ‘Comfort’ by Julia Jacklin: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTonGqnbiZw
Crushing 
Julia Jacklin

Out now through Liberation Records
Available to buy/stream hereCrushing tracklist:
1. Body
2. Head Alone
3. Pressure To Party
4. Don’t Know How To Keep Loving You
5. When The Family Flies In
6. Convention
7. Good Guy
8. You Were Right
9. Turn Me Down
10. Comfort
JULIA JACKLIN
CRUSHING TOUR | AUSTRALIA
MARCH 2019

With special guest Olympia, Annie Hamilton, Asha Jeffries & Robert Muinos
Presented by Frontier Touring & triple j
ALL TICKETS ON SALE NOW
via frontiertouring.com/juliajacklin
Tuesday 5 March
UOW Unibar | Wollongong, NSW

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
18+
moshtix.com.au | Ph: 1300 438 849Wednesday 6 March
ANU | Canberra, ACT
with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
18+
moshtix.com.au | Ph: 1300 438 849

Saturday 9 March
The Triffid | Brisbane, QLD

with special guests Olympia & Asha Jefferies
18+
oztix.com.au | Ph: 1300 762 545

Thursday 14 March
The Forum | Melbourne, VIC

with special guests Olympia & Robert Muinos
18+
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100

Friday 15 March
Metro Theatre | Sydney, NSW

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
18+
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849

Saturday 16 March
Cambridge Hotel | Newcastle, NSW

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton
18+
ticketbooth.com.au

Also playing:

Thursday 21 February*
Perth Festival, Perth, WA
All Ages

Wednesday 27 February*
Blue Smoke | Christchurch, NZ
with special guest Merk
18+
livenation.co.nz

Thursday 28 February*
The Cook | Dunedin, NZ*
with special guest Merk
18+
livenation.co.nz

Friday 1 March*
Hollywood Cinema | Auckland, NZ
with special guest Merk
18+
livenation.co.nz

Saturday 2 March*
San Fran | Wellington, NZ
with special guest Merk
18+
livenation.co.nz

Sunday 10 March*
WOMADelaide | Adelaide, SA
All Ages
womadelaide.com.au 

Tuesday 12 March*
Spiegeltent, Hobart, TAS
18+
Tickets available here

*not Frontier Touring shows

International dates:
Tue 26 Mar           Haunt, Brighton, UK
Wed 27 Mar          Fleece, Bristol, UK
Thu 28 Mar           Castle & Falcon, Birmingham, UK
Fri 29 Mar             Yes, Manchester, UK
Sat 30 Mar            Whelans, Dublin, Ireland
Tue 2 Apr              Stereo, Glasgow, UK
Wed 3 Apr             Belgrave Music Hall, Leeds, UK
Thu 4 Apr              Electric Brixton, London, UK
Fri 5 Apr                Les Etoiles, Paris, France
Mon 8 Apr             AB Club, Brussels, Belgium
Tue 9 Apr              Paradiso-Noord, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Wed 10 Apr          Blue Shell, Cologne, Germany
Thu 11 Apr           Molotow Sky Bar, Hamburg, Germany
Fri 12 Apr             Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark
Mon 15 Apr          Privatclub, Berlin, Germany
Tue 16 Apr           Milla, Munich, Germany
Wed 17 Apr          Bogen F, Zurich
Wed 24 Apr          Bowery Ballroom, New York NY
Thu 25 Apr           Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA
Fri 26 Apr              Great Scott, Boston MA
Sat 27 Apr            Bar le Ritz, Montreal QC
Sun 28 Apr           Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto ON
Tue 30 Apr           DC9, Washington DC
Wed 1 May          Strange Matter, Richmond VA
Thu 2 May            Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro NC
Mon 6 May           Third Man, Nashville TN
Wed 8 May           Schubas, Chicago IL
Thu 9 May            7th Street Entry, Minneapolis MN
Fri 10 May            Reverb, Omaha NE
Sat 11 May           Recordbar, Kansas City MO
Mon 13 May         Larimer Lounge, Denver CO
Tue 14 May           Urban Lounge, Salt Lake City UT
Fri 17 May             Fox Cabaret, Vancouver BC
Sat 18 May           Tractor Tavern, Seattle WA
Sun 19 May           Mississippi Studios, Portland OR
Tue 21 May           Swedish American Music Hall, San Francisco CA
Thu 23 May           Teragram, Los Angeles CA
Mon 3 Jun             Club Dada, Dallas TX
Tue 4 Jun              Barracuda (Inside), Austin TX
Wed 5 Jun            White Oak Music Hall (Upstairs), Houston TX
Thu 6 Jun              Gasa Gasa, New Orleans LA
Author Credits: [show_post_categories parent="no" parentcategory="writers" show = "category" hyperlink="yes"]
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

To Top