On Friday 10 August 2018 the Law Society of Tasmania will for the first time formally recognise its members who have achieved 40 years or more service to the legal profession and who remained practising in 2018.

More than 30 lawyers will be at the Supreme Court in Hobart and will be presented with a commemorative certificate and lapel pin by Law Society President Will Justo and Chief Justice, the Honourable Alan Blow AO. Former Governor and Chief Justice the Honourable William Cox AC has agreed to mark the occasion with a few words.

Those receiving recognition on Friday have a combined experience of more than 1440 years in the legal profession. They have seen legal practice move from using typewriters and faxes to digital dictation and emails; from researching a case using large texts and case books to the availability of online resources from around the world with the touch of a few keys.
Law Society President Will Justo