Congratulations to Alex Doolan on winning this season’s Ricky Ponting Medal as the Tasmanian Tigers Player of the Year, and Georgia Redmayne for winning the Tasmanian Roar Player of the Year.
Alex is a very worthy winner having the added duty of captaincy for much of the summer and continuing his form with the bat with close to 400 runs in the Sheffield Shield.
Georgia has been a welcome addition to the Roar bringing not only experience but also tenacity which she showed when she became the first player for Tasmania to hit a WNCL century this season.
On-field and off, regardless of results, Tasmanians are rightly proud of the way our cricketers represent them.
This was reflected in Tasmania winning the Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award in both the men’s and women’s competitions again this year.
The Awards are decided by umpire votes and recognise State cricket teams which have best played in the spirit of the game in recognition that elite cricket should be played hard but fair.
I congratulate all players, coaches, volunteers and staff on a great season, and in particular congratulate the award winners on their outstanding personal achievements.
Will Hodgman, Premier