The Chairman of TasWater, Miles Hampton, has announced a number of Board appointments arising from the resignation earlier this year of Director Dr Jane Sargison and the decision by directors Dr Dan Norton AO and Brian Bayley not to seek reappointment when their current terms expire early in 2016.

“The Board positions were advertised nationally and the Selection Committee has appointed Sally Darke, Dr Helen Locher and Tony Kelly as directors,” Mr Hampton said.

“Mrs Darke lives in Launceston and is well known in Tasmania in her position as Director with professional services firm KPMG and brings extensive experience as an HR professional,” he said.

“Dr Locher lives in Hobart and has previously been a Board member of the Environment Protection Authority. Her professional qualifications and scientific experience, including her work in sustainability and water resources management, will be very beneficial.

“Mr Kelly lives in Victoria and has extensive experience in the water and sewerage industry, and most recently was Managing Director of Yarra Valley Water.”

Mr Hampton expressed his appreciation to former Director Dr Jane Sargison and retiring directors Dr Dan Norton AO and Brian Bayley for their significant contributions to the successful establishment of TasWater.

The Chief Representative of owner councils, Mr David Downie, commented that the Selection Committee believed that the large number of well-qualified candidates reflected the recognition of the significance of the council-owned business.
Chairman of TasWater, Miles Hampton