The Hodgman Liberal Government is committed to investing in the arts in Tasmania.

Today, I am pleased to announce the awarding of four grants under Arts Tasmania’s Professional Development Fellowship to local artists.

The Fellowships, valued at $5000, will enable recipients to undertake a program of professional development activities in their respective fields that will help them to gain new skills and knowledge.

The 2015 Fellowships have been awarded to Joshua Lowe, Emma Bett, Karlin Love and Kelly Drummond Cawthorn.

Joshua Lowe is an emerging choreographer, dancer and producer from Launceston, who will, through his Fellowship, work alongside three established Australian choreographers in Kyle Page, Stephanie Lake and Paea Leach.

Hobart-based gallerist Emma Bett will travel to New York to investigate aspects of the commercial gallery sector and attend the 2016 Frieze Art Fair.

Kelly Drummond Cawthorn, also of Hobart, will participate in the Slovenia-Croatia dance exchange program, a cultural and artistic residency for experimental dance artists. She will also undertake a residency exchange at the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance.

Karlin Love, whose career has focussed largely on regional Tasmania, will be mentored by four leading Australian music creators, Andrew Ford, Sandy Evans, Stephen Leek and Colin Offord.

Through their Fellowship activities, these four artists will not only benefit individually, but will help enrich Tasmania’s arts community, which is fast becoming a draw card for visitors to the State.

Arts Tasmania provides a range of investment opportunities for artists and arts workers. For more information, visit
Vanessa Goodwin, Minister for the Arts