The Southern Cross Television Tasmanian Athlete of the Year award recognises some of our best athletes who are putting Tasmania on the map.

It has been a stellar year for many Tasmanian athletes on the national and international stage, proving we can produce world class athletes capable of being the world’s best.

Our six finalists have dominated their disciplines at the Commonwealth Games, world cups, the Ashes and the AFL Grand Final.

This year’s finalists for the Tasmanian Athlete of the Year are:

• George Bailey; George played all five winning tests for Australia in the 2013-14 Ashes, was vice captain of Australia’s one-day squad and captain of the T20 team;
• Grant Birchall – the Hawthorn Football Club half-back was pivotal in the team’s back-to-back AFL Premiership victory in 2014;
• Amy Cure – after winning three medals at the 2014 World Cycling Track Championships Amy went on to claim dual Commonwealth Games medals;
• Tim Deavin – the Launceston-born Kookaburras’ player helped the Australian hockey team secure a global triumph at the 2014 Hockey World Cup;
• Eddie Ockenden – it’s been a gold-plated year for Eddie who claimed gold at the Hockey World Cup, the Commonwealth Games and the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup; and
• Hamish Peacock – the javelin champion won bronze at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games, following the second longest throw of his career.

The 2014 Southern Cross Television Tasmanian Athlete of the Year will be announced at a cocktail function on November 28.
Will Hodgman, Premier Minister for Sport and Recreation