Dissenting Report focuses on Concessions System

The Tasmanian Greens Cost of Living spokesperson Tim Morris MP moved a dissenting report to the Cost of Living Parliamentary Committee report which was tabled in the Parliament today.

Mr Morris represented the Greens on the House of Assembly Select Committee on the Cost of Living.

“Despite receiving many submissions, and public hearings testimony on the important cost of living challenges facing so many Tasmanians, the Select Committee’s final report, which was tabled today by the Committee Chair, failed to make any recommendations on action which should be undertaken,” Mr Morris said.

“The Greens recognise that over the time the Select Committee was sitting, some initiatives and suggestions have been partially or fully implemented, however more needs to be done, and this Committee could have played more of an advocacy to drive that change.”

“A clear area, on which the Committee received considerable representation, is the need to make the Tasmanian concession system more targeted where it is needed, and more effective.”

“Despite moving to have my proposed recommendations included in the Select Committee’s Final Report, I was unsuccessful and therefore utilised the option of presenting a dissenting report, which details the following recommendations for further action to be taken.”

Select Committee Dissenting Report Recommendations:

1. That the Treasurer establishes a review to provide a report that:
a) establishes the administrative cost of the delivery of each concession, and
b) across the class of persons eligible for each concession offered, the percentage of those persons, who can and do use each concession, and
c) the actions that would be necessary to facilitate the operation of the Metro Greencard system to receive and disperse payments for selected basic services, as a possible alternative to the existing delivery systems for concessions.
2. That the report be tabled in the Parliament within a reasonable period.
The Cost of Living Committee comprised Tim Morris Mp for the Greens, Rebecca White MP (Chair) and Graeme Sturges for Labor, and Jacquie Petrusma MP and Matt Groom MP representing the Liberal Party.
Tim Morris MP Greens Cost of Living Spokesperson