On the 20th October, 14 competitors from Southern ITF Taekwon-Do (based in Hobart) will compete in the ITF Taekwon-Do 2012 National Championships at Carrara on the Gold Coast. Following their impressive performance at the Oceania Championships held in Hobart in April, many of the Tasmanian competitors wish to finish the year on another positive note by taking out the National Championship medals.

“Representatives from all Australian States will compete in the Championships with the Tasmanian Team likely contenders for a host of medals” said VIth degree Senior Instructor from Southern ITF Taekwon-Do Mr Steve Weston

In preparation for the Championships the team has been in competition training for the last 8 weeks. “Their last group training session being this Sunday at the Southern ITF School, 12 Ashbolt Crescent Lutana from 2pm till 4pm. This competition training will put the team in a great position to take out a significant haul of medals “said Mr Steve Weston.

This event is part of the selection procedure for the National Black belt Team that will compete in Spain in 2013 at the World Championships. Already Gabrielle Anastasio and David Walters have gained credit towards selection with Gabi winning Gold and 2 Silver’s and David taking a Gold, Silver and Bronze at the Oceania Championships hosted by ITF Tasmania in April this year

The Tasmanian Team is led by Mr Steve Weston, Senior Instructor of Southern ITF Taekwon-Do who will also take on the responsibility of organising the referees for the Event and setting the standards for the particular disciplines as Umpire Director for the National Association.

Wayne Fehlberg (3rd degree BB) and Joanne Van Emmerik (2nd Degree BB) will attend as coaches for the team.

The team consist of the following competitors:

Black belts
Gabrielle Anastasio (2nd Degree)
Erik Holland (2nd Degree)
David Walters (1st Degree)

Coloured Belts
Sam Thomas 2nd Gup
Matthew Gillies 2nd Gup
Gilbert Gillies 2nd Gup
Jasper Rigg 3rd Gup
Joshua Rowland 3rd Gup
Jesse Rowland 4th Gup
Sam Bird 5th Gup
Alex MacIntyre 5th Gup
Matthew Levis 6th Gup

Lisa Blyton 6th Gup
Dana Gillies 7th Gup


Wayne Fehlberg 3rd Degree
Joanne Van Emmerik 2nd Degree
Steve Weston