Exiled Labor minister Bryan Green is returning to Cabinet in the new Labor-Green minority government.

The former Deputy Premier spent nearly four years on the backbench after facing two criminal court trials.

Both juries were unable to reach a verdict.

A Government source says Mr Green will today be sworn in as the Minister for Primary Industries and Resources.

Legislative Councillor Lin Thorp has been promoted and will take over the Premier David Bartlett’s Education portfolio.

The Member for Bass Michelle O’Byrne is expected to take over the massive health portfolio which the Deputy Premier Lara Giddings was keen to relinquish.

It is not known which portfolios will be given to the Greens Leader Nick McKim who will become Australia’s first Greens minister.

Denison MP Cassy O’Connor, will be installed as Cabinet Secretary.

Ms O’Connor used to work for a Federal Labor MP, is Mr McKim’s partner, and attended many of last week’s power-sharing discussions with the Premier.

But she says she has been offered the Cabinet position on merit and suggestions to the contrary are “slightly offensive”.

“I certainly do not feel that I am more deserving than any one of my colleagues,” she said.

“We’re all capable, intelligent, reasonable people, who care dearly about Tasmania and making good outcomes happen for the people of Tasmania.

“But the letter arrived to me and I’ve written back to the Premier indicating that I would be honoured to accept.”

Tasmanian business has welcomed the inclusion of Greens in State Cabinet but says the arrangement will take time to prove itself.

The Chamber of Commerce and Industry says the deal improves the chances of a stable minority government lasting the full four years.

Barry Chipman from Timber Communities Australia says Labor’s arrangement with the Greens has provoked concern within the timber industry.

“What is now going to occur, in one sense, has caused a great deal of concern for timber folk but Nick McKim has constantly stated publicly that he wants to honour and he wants to act in the will of the voters and not about party politics,” he said.

The new Cabinet will comprise only eight ministers, instead of the usual nine.

It will be sworn in at 3:00pm at Government House.

Read the full ABC Online article, HERE