Congratulations to the 41 exceptional finalists announced today in the RBF Department of Education Awards for Excellence.

Now in their fourth year, the awards recognise some of our very best public educators, volunteers and staff who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent.

When I travel the state and meet the staff and volunteers working in our schools I am always greatly impressed by their dedication and talent. Their work often goes unrecognised, but not today.

Awards such as these are important to recognise the significant work being undertaken everyday in our schools, which shapes the lives of so many young Tasmanians.

This year, there has been a record number of nominations from parents, students and the Tasmanian community, as well as nominations by fellow staff and managers.

It is very pleasing that the Tasmanian community, along with the Department of Education, has recognised the fantastic work being undertaken by our educators.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in late October. The finalists are:

School-Based Awards
Principal of the Year – Early Years and Primary

• Finalists: Anne Douglas (Austins Ferry Primary School), Anna Viney (Campania District School),Tony Brazendale (Waverley Primary School)
Principal of the Year – Secondary
• Finalists: Dianne Purnell (Elizabeth College), Keith Wenn (Launceston College), Mandy Reynolds-Smith (Montrose Bay High School)
Teacher of the Year – Early Years and Primary
• Finalists: Emma Kemsley (Punchbowl Primary School), Helen Rothwell (Glenora District School), Wendy Fletcher (Bellerive Primary School)
Teacher of the Year – Secondary
• Finalists: Glenn Freeman (Hobart College), Glenn Schultz (Taroona High School), Joe Pavic (Elizabeth College)
Teachers Health Fund Outstanding Young Teacher
• Finalists: Emily Stevens (Brooks High School), Hannah Keir (Oatlands District High School), Mel Collet (Jordan River Learning Federation Senior School)

School Business Manager of the Year
• Finalists: Jill Budgeon (Ashley School), Leonie Johnston (Brooks High School), Robyn Langworthy (Lenah Valley Primary School)
Support Employee of the Year
• Finalists: Graeme Pickett (Riverside Primary School), John Klapsis (Elizabeth College), Nigel Walsh (Montrose Bay High School)
Professional Support Specialist of the Year
• Finalists: Karen Kenny (Dunalley Primary School), Michelle Dazeley (Somerset Primary School), Sarah Baker (Orford Primary School)
Service Awards (Department–based)

Employee of the Year
• Finalists: Johnathon Moritz (Principal Education Review Officer), Lisa Baker (Manager Information Support Service), Philip Walker (Principal Leader, e-Learning)
LINC Employee of the Year
• Finalists: Garry Conroy-Cooper (Launceston LINC), Jane Dobbs (Kingston LINC)
Young Employee of the Year
• Finalists: Christopher Barnes (Network Support Officer, Learning Services Northern Region), Emma Quinn (Senior Internal Auditor)
Team of the Year
• Finalists: Chigwell Child and Family Centre, IT Services Managers, Jordan River Learning Federation Principals

Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology

• Finalists: Chloe Simmons (e-Learning programs, Southern Support School), Julie Mills (Systems Administrator, LINC Tasmania), Scott MacCrum (Advanced Skills Teacher, Taroona High School)
Community Award
Volunteer of the Year
• Finalists: Dianne Beven (Volunteer at Waverly Primary School), Doug McKenzie (Volunteer at Westerway Primary School), Jenny Eddington, (President of Tasmanian Association of State School Organisations), Robyn Tiedeman & Glenda Ellis (Literacy Tutors at Burnie LINC)
Jeremy Rockliff, Minister for Education and Training