Please see below for the winner and finalists for the Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2017. Once again we had entries from all round Australia and New Zealand and our judges, Peter Grant, Margaret Johnson and Fiona Stocker, have selected eleven stories for publication in the 2017 anthology.

The winning story by Jennifer Porter will appear in Issue 85 of Tasmania 40° South magazine (due out in June) and all finalists’ stories will be published in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2017.

The anthology will be launched by James Dryburgh at the Tasmanian Writers and Readers Festival, 6th to 17th September at Hadleys Orient Hotel in Hobart. All entrants will receive an invitation to the launch and I hope you can attend and support the winners (and enjoy the festival).

Visit the Tasmanian Writers’ Centre website for details of the festival:

Congratulations to the winner and finalists. Many thanks to all those who entered - your support is vital to the continuation of our competition and I encourage you to enter again in 2018.


The Reverend by Jennifer Porter (VIC)

Jennifer Porter has written reviews for ArtsHub and has had work broadcast on Radio National. Her adult novel manuscript, In Your Image, has been shortlisted and longlisted for a number of national and international literary prizes. She also writes poetry, short stories and children’s books. Jen participated in the 2016 Hardcopy program (a professional development program run by the ACT Writers Centre) and travelled to the Philippines to take part in a Writers Immersion and Cultural Exchange program (WrICE) residency in 2017.


On the Ebb Tide by Margaret Dakin (QLD)
The Church of Lost Objects by Penny Gibson (VIC)
Matchbox Beetles by Annabel Larkey (TAS)
The Rasp of a Hungry Flame by Carmel Lillis (VIC)
Liberty by Ruairi Murphy (TAS)
Wash-up by Melanie Napthine (VIC)
Tybee Bomb by William Stanforth (VIC)
Alice ... Incomplete by Karenlee Thompson (QLD)
The Tartan Factor by Polly Whittington (TAS)
Tears of Chios by Lynette Willoughby (SA)

Judges comments:

The winning story, The Reverend, is a nearly flawless piece of writing; taut, engaging, and rich in characterisation, despite its relative brevity. Some other entries risked more in terms of creative reach, but achieved more uneven results overall.