Congratulations to the producers of Lion – which has been recognised with an astounding 12 gongs at the 7th Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Awards overnight.

As many would know, the movie is based on the autobiography of Tasmanian Saroo Brierley, A Long Way Home and his incredible journey to find his birth mother and family in India.

The Hodgman Liberal Government recognises the producers See-Saw Films, in association with Aquarius Films and Sunstar Entertainment for this haul –

Best Film
Best Direction
Best Lead Actor – Sunny Pawar
Best Supporting Actor – Dev Patel
Best Supporting Actress – Nicole Kidman
Best Adapted Screenplay
Best Cinematography
Best Editing
Best Sound
Best Original Score
Best Production Design
Best Costume Design

The Hodgman Government through Screen Tasmania is truly proud to have supported Lion with on-ground production support.

Lion includes breathtaking scenery from local locations including kunanyi/Mount Wellington, Cockle Creek, Bruny Island and the Tasman Peninsula.

And not stopping there, the hugely popular Tasmanian based Rosehaven was nominated for Best Television Comedy Series and it’s co-creator and star Celia Pacquola has won Best Performance in a Television Comedy.

The Gourmet Farmer was nominated for Best Lifestyle Television Program.

It’s fantastic to see Tasmanian stories competing with the best on offer and without ongoing Government investment in the State’s screen industry and its people, we would be unable to support feature films of the scale of Lion.

A full list of the AACTA winners can be found here: